Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.

Alumni/ae News Online February 2016

About Our Alums


R. Alan Chapman '60 retired as temporary pastor of Rosemont Presbyterian Church, Bristol, TN.

Stephen Huntley '61,'69 (ThM),'00 (DMin) retired as associate pastor of the Peachtree Presbyterian Church, Atlanta.

Joe Pack Arnold '66 is a disaster response team volunteer with the Red Cross in Hattiesburg, MS and works as needed at Pine Grove Recovery Center.



David Turner '75 retired as pastor of the Barnwell Presbyterian Church, Barnwell, SC.

Lynn Shurley '74, '95 (DMin), retired as pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, Paducah, KY.



Dean Chapman '82(DMin) is a hospitalist at Springfield Hospital, Springfield, VT.

Mark Jumper '82(DMin) is assistant professor of theological and ministerial studies at Regent University School of Divinity in Virginia Beach, VA. He recently traveled to Ukraine with Olive Branch International, an organization that travels to different countries where military chaplains don’t exist. He taught a course to 12 Ukrainian seminary students who are a part of a four-year military chaplain certificate program.

Hugh Henderson '85 retired in Columbia, SC.

Richard Hill '87 is interim senior pastor of Covenant Presbyterian Church, Atlanta.



Sue Boardman '90, '97(DMin) just published two books on Amazon, Grandmothers Are In Charge of Hope: real tools that build more love, stronger families and a better world and We Gather Together…holiday feasts with the family you have!

James Dant '91 (DMin) is pastor of First Baptist Church, Greenville, SC.

Ann Pitman '93 is interim pastor of Grace Presbyterian Church, Fort Wayne, IN.

Patricia (Susie) Cashion '94, '04 (DMin) is interim associate pastor of First Presbyterian Church, Hilton Head Island, SC.

Scott Huie '94 has accepted a position as president of a new Christian music booking agency in Nashville, TN.

John Cole '98, '05 (DMin) is pastor of First United Presbyterian Church, Oak Park, IL.

Carolyn Heyward '98 retired as associate pastor of the St. James Presbyterian Church, Charleston, SC.

Jan Stewart-Tolbert '98 retired as pastor of Carrollton Presbyterian Church, Carrollton, GA.

Carol DiGiusto '99,'07 (DMin) retired as associate pastor of the Palms Presbyterian Church in Jacksonville, FL and is now pastor of Lake Shores Presbyterian Church in Jacksonville.

Joe Hinds '99 is credit analyst in the commercial loan department at Unity National Bank in Piqua, OH.



Jan Edmiston '01 (DMin) and Denise Anderson are candidates for co-moderators of the General Assembly PC(USA).

Barbara Jordan '01 is supply pastor focusing on congregational care at Ozaukee Congregational Church, Grafton, WI. She is also a chaplain at Zilber Family Hospice in Wauwatosa, WI.

Robert Williamson '01 has been named director of the Miller Center for Vocation, Ethics, and Calling at Hendrix College, Conway, AR. He currently holds the Margaret Berry Hutton Odyssey Professorship which, like the Miller Center, focuses on the intersection of academics, service and vocation in the context of faith and values.

Lucy Youngblood '01 began nursing clinicals in January at Palmetto Health Hospital, Columbia, SC.

David Cozad '02 (DMin) is interim pastor of Shandon Presbyterian Church, Columbia, SC.

Susan Haynes '02 is interim pastor of Newnan Presbyterian Church, Newnan, GA.

Clayton Rascoe '03 is Executive Director of Massanetta Springs Camp and Conference Center in Harrisonburg, VA.

Susan Takis '03 is part-time pastor of Middleburg Presbyterian Church, Middleburg, FL.

Allen Cross '04 is pastor of First Presbyterian Church, Shelbyville, TN.

Matt Schlageter '05 and Sara Varnado '07 are relocating to the Washington, DC area where Matt will serve as chaplain at Children’s National Medical Center.

Leigh Jones '07 is associate pastor of Ormond Beach Presbyterian Church, Ormond Beach, FL.

Nancy Meehan Yao '09 is transitional pastor of First Presbyterian Church, Watkins Glen, NY.



Robert Lowry '10 (DMin) serves as the Ozarks Collegiate Parish’s lead minister and dean of the chapel at University of the Ozarks, Clarksville, AR.

Hamilton Barnes '10, '12 (MAPT) and Carrie Bowers Barnes '11, '14 (MAPT) are proud parents of Miller Hamilton Barnes, born January 16, 2016 weighing 8 lbs. 6 oz.

Kelly Fitzgerald '10 and Mike Frandsen '11 are proud parents of Hayes Elizabeth Frandsen born January 21, 2016 and weighing 6 lbs. 12 oz.

Wylie Hughes '10 and his wife Njeri Wagana Hughes are serving from January to April, 2016, as locums at Scots International Church, Rotterdam, Netherlands.

Meghan Brown Saavedra '10 and husband Raul are proud parents of a baby girl, Lucia Emilia, born December 7, 2015.

Daesung “Teddy” Son '11,'12 (MAPT) and his wife are proud parents of a baby boy, born January 18th. Youn Bae weighed 6.3 lbs.

David Markwalder '12 (DMin) retired as pastor of Gateway Presbyterian Church, Colorado Springs, CO.

Elizabeth Toland Smith '12 is parish associate at The Holy Way Presbyterian Church, Tucson, AZ.

Sarah McClelland-Brown '13 was ordained January 2, 2016 at First Christian Church, Valdosta, GA and installed January 3, 2016 as pastor of First Christian Church, Eastman, GA.

Betsy Lyles '14 was ordained December 12, 2015 at Davidson College Presbyterian Church, Davidson, NC. Betsy serves as director of recruitment and admissions at Columbia Seminary.

Jennie Sankey '14 is associate pastor of Pleasant Hill Presbyterian Church, Duluth, GA.


In Memoriam

 James W. Flanagan, Jr. '57

 February 1, 2014

 A. Stuart Nickles '66

 January 27, 2016

 Norma Tyson '10

 January 5, 2016