Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.

Columbia Seminary Offers Expense-Paid Holy Land Pilgrimage for Pastors


Decatur, GA.—October 14 is the application deadline for a unique spiritual renewal experience offered for mid-career pastors by Columbia Theological Seminary’s Lifelong Learning program. Journey of Faith: A Pilgrimage of Discernment for Ministry includes a two-week pilgrimage to the Holy Land and two short retreats—one before and one after the pilgrimage. Participant costs for travel, accommodations, meals, and materials will be paid through a grant from the CF Foundation, through its Holy Land Pastoral Renewal Program. Participants have their choice of two dates for travel. Pilgrimage I is January 30-February 11, 2006, with an orientation retreat December 6-8, 2005. Pilgrimage II is May 1-13, 2006, with an orientation retreat March 22-24. The itineraries are the same for the two pilgrimages. “Journey of Faith” is open to pastors of any denomination who have 10 or more years in ordained ministry and who are currently in active service to a congregation. The application deadline for either pilgrimage is October 14, 2005. Enrollment in each pilgrimage is limited to 20 participants. Applicants will be notified of acceptance by October 21, 2005. Dent Davis, dean and vice president of Lifelong Learning, is project director for “Journey of Faith.” He says, “This extraordinary program—made possible through an unanticipated, generous gift to the seminary—will enable pastors to journey from the demands and challenges of everyday ministry, to visit the birthplace of our faith, and to reflect on their call to ministry. Participants will have an opportunity to deepen appreciation for the biblical concept of calling, strengthen reflective skills, and understand symbols of life and traditions of faith in new, unexpected ways.” For an application, go to For more information, call 404-687-4526, or e-mail Columbia Theological Seminary, located in Decatur, Georgia, was established in 1828 and is one of 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA). 

Media Contact:
Michael Thompson
Director of Communications

View All News Releases