Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.

Award, Scholarship and Fellowship Recipients for 2006-2007


Decatur, GA—Columbia Theological Seminary has announced the recipients of awards, scholarships, and fellowships for the 2006-2007 academic year. The following is a complete list of recipients: Reggie Weaver was awarded the C. Virginia Harrison Award which is presented to a graduating senior who is “conscientious, responsible, and hardworking.” Weaver, who completed a full-year internship last year at Oakhurst Presbyterian Church, Decatur, GA, has been invited to preach at the Montreat Conference Center on June 3, 2007. He will be the first preacher in Montreat’s nationally recognized Summer Worship Series. Buz Wilcoxin, a second-year student, was awarded the Florrie Wilkes Sanders Prize in Theology which is given to a student for the best paper showing sound theological scholarship and relevance to needs of people in the contemporary world. Over the past summer, Wilcoxon completed a supervised ministry internship at Decatur Presbyterian Church. Last June he served as the student assistant representing Columbia at the General Assembly in Birmingham, AL. This year’s Paul T. Furhmann Book Prize in Church History was awarded to senior Leigh Jones. This award is presented annually to the student who has demonstrated the most outstanding achievement in church history studies. Jones spent summer 2006 serving an advanced internship for Carrollton (GA) Presbyterian Church. After graduation this spring, she will be seeking a call concentrating in Christian education in the Atlanta area. Columbia Scholarships are awarded to up to six first-year Master of Divinity students who have exhibited exceptional academic and leadership abilities during their undergraduate studies and in community involvement and church commitments. Recipients include Brian Coulter, Elizabeth Turner, and Kathryn Wolf. Scholarships are renewable and were awarded to seniors Catherine Cavazos, Laura Goodall, Chris Henry, Chris Hooker, Robert McClellan, and Sarah Walker and to second-year students Adam Copeland, Kate Giguere, Sara Hayden, and Emily Martin. Honor Scholarships are awarded annually to first-year Master of Divinity students on the basis of academic achievement, leadership in the church and on campus, and demonstration of outstanding promise for the ordained ministry. Recipients for the Class of 2009 include Katelyn Gordon, Alexandra Hedrick, Shaun King, and David Powers. These scholarships are renewable and were awarded to seniors Morgan Hay, Hana Johnson, Leigh Jones, Kate Malarney, Sheena Mayrant, Catherine Walsh, and Emily Zeig, and to the second-year students Karen Ware Jackson, Marissa Myers, Catherine Neely, and Greg Sims. Merit Scholarships are awarded to full-time Master of Divinity students on the basis of academic achievement, leadership ability, and potential for ministry. Recipients for the Class of 2009 include Wesley Bolden, SeongCheol Im, Myong Kim, and Thirza Sayers. The following seniors also received a Merit Scholarship: Sharon Acton Schuler, Jo Anderson, Amy Baer, Davis M. Bailey, Phil Brown, Caroline Dennis, Ashley DeVore, Kimberly Donahue Wadlington, Lynne Frech, Elizabeth Gabbard, James Goodlet, Susan Jacobson, Michael Manaugh, David Rogers, Catherine Schreiber, Monica Wedlock, and Jill Tolbert. The following second-year students also received a Merit Scholarship: Jean Sparks, Elizabeth Thonney, Kathryn Threadgill, Lucy Webb, Daniel Webb, Whitney Wilkinson, Heather Wood, Karen Fleming, Marci Glass, David Hawkins, James Hilden-Minton, Kevin Kim, Nancy Meehan Yao, and Charles Reed. Columbia Friendship Circle Scholarships are funded annually by the Columbia Friendship Circle and are awarded to Presbyterian Church (USA) Master of Divinity students. The student “must be in the second or third year; have demonstrated a strong commitment to God’s call and diligence in studies; and be a parent with family responsibilities and financial need.” This year’s recipients are seniors Deidra Crosby and Sandra Lacey and second-year students Michael McLaughlin, Michael Bodger, and Charles Pope. This year’s recipient of the Columbia Friendship Circle’s graduate fellowship is Tricia Dillon Thomas ‘06. Ministry Fellowships from the Fund for Theological Education (FTE) have been awarded to two entering students: Brian Coulter and Kathryn Wolf. They are among 40 students entering Master of Divinity programs across the country who will receive $5,000 for self-designed ministry projects, expenses to attend the FTE Summer Conference on Excellence in Ministry, and other vocational enrichment opportunities. Currently, eight Columbia students are FTE Ministry Fellows. Columbia Theological Seminary, located in Decatur, Georgia, was established in 1828 and is one of 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA). 

Media Contact:
Michael Thompson
Director of Communications

View All News Releases