Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.


Search Committee Issues Position Description for New President


Decatur, GA— The committee searching for Columbia Theological Seminary’s new president met for the second time on campus on Tuesday, January 27. The meeting included a session with the current president, Laura Mendenhall, and reports from meetings with the staff that were conducted by faculty members Rodger Nishioka and Christine Yoder, who are members of the search committee. In addition, the committee approved a position description for the new president. That document is available on the seminary’s website,, under Campus News. “We welcome nominations,” says Lee Bowman, who chairs the committee. “It is our hope to conduct initial interviews as soon as possible.” Confidential inquiries about the search process and nominations should be sent to Lee Bowman at, or to her attention at First Presbyterian Church, 171 Market Street, Lexington, KY 40507. Columbia Theological Seminary, located in Decatur, GA, was established in 1828 and is one of 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Media Contact:
Michael Thompson
Director of Communications

View All News Releases