Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.

Four Columbia Seminary students receive Apollos Scholarships from Omaha Presbyterian Foundation



The Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation has announced 25 new Apollos Scholarship awards for the 2010-2011 academic year. Four Columbia Theological Seminary students are among the recipients. They are Elizabeth Kay Toland, Iola, KS; Leigh Campbell-Taylor, Atlanta, GA; Ralph C. Griffin III, Erie, PA; and Steven James Sankey, Cedar Rapids, IA. 

The Apollos Scholarships are awarded annually to Master of Divinity students enrolled in one of the 10 seminaries of the Presbyterian Church (USA). Established in 1954, the program is modeled after the biblical story of Apollos, a young man who came from Alexandria, Egypt, to Ephesus, where his gifts for preaching and teaching were encouraged by Jesus’ followers (Acts 18.24-27).

Columbia Theological Seminary, located in Decatur, GA, was established in 1828 and is one of 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Michael Thompson
Director of Communications

View All News Releases