Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.

Pamela Cooper-White Receives Fulbright Award


The Rev. Dr. Pamela Cooper-White, the Ben G. and Nancye Clapp Gautier Professor of Pastoral Theology, Care and Counseling at Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, GA, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to do research and teach a seminar at the Sigmund Freud Foundation and Museum in Vienna, Austria 2013-2014 academic year, the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently.

Dr. Cooper-White will hold the title of Fulbright-Freud Visiting Scholar of Psychoanalysis.  She is the first theologian ever to receive this award.  Her proposed research project is entitled “Existential, Humanistic, and Religious Themes in the Writings of Freud’s Vienna Circle and the Vienna Psychoanalytic Society,” and she will also teach a course at the Freud Museum, sponsored by the University of Vienna’s Institute for Practical Theology and psychology of Religion, entitled “Freud, Psychoanalysis and Religion: Critiques and Counter-critiques.”  In addition, she will teach a week-long seminar at the University of Bern based on her recent books Shared Wisdom: Use of the Self in Pastoral Care and Counseling (2004); Many Voices: Pastoral Psychotherapy in Relational and Theological Perspective (2007); and Braided Selves: Collected Essays on Multiplicity, God, and Persons (2011).

Dr. Cooper-White is one of approximately 1,100 U.S. senior faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2013-2014. The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 310,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and athletics. Forty-three Fulbright alumni from 11 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 81 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, Founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; John Atta Mills, President of Ghana; Lee Evans, Olympic Gold Medalist; Rita Dove, former U.S. Poet Laureate and 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, Physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, Chairman and Founder, Bose Corporation; Renee Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, Writer; and Daniel Libeskind, Architect.

Fulbright recipients are among more than 40,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. For more than sixty years, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has funded and supported programs that seek to promote mutual understanding and respect between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit our website at or contact James A. Lawrence, Office of Academic Exchange Programs, telephone 202-632-3241 or e-mail

Columbia Theological Seminary, located in Decatur, GA, endeavors to prepare imaginative, resilient leaders for God’s changing world. The seminary was established in 1828 and is one of 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Media Contact:
Michael Thompson
Director of Communications

View All News Releases