Educating imaginative, resilient leaders for God's changing world.

Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation Announces Apollos Scholarship Recipients


Dr. Gary S. Eller, President of the Omaha Presbyterian Seminary Foundation has announced the recipients of Apollos Scholarship awards for this year, continuing the Foundation tradition of supporting seminary students who are pursuing a Master of Divinity degree and seeking to become ordained pastors in the Presbyterian Church (USA). The Foundation has provided support to seminarians since 1954 and has awarded more than $2.5 million directly to students.  

The Apollos Scholarships offer recipients $3,000 annually toward their expenses while they are enrolled in the Master of Divinity degree program. Three students at Columbia were chosen as Apollos Scholars this year in addition to two others continuing their studies.  

  • Erin Gaston, Senior, from John Knox Presbyterian Church in Greenville, South Carolina, and Foothills Presbytery.

  • Karl Heimbuck, Junior, from the United Presbyterian Church of Laramie, Wyoming, and the Presbytery of Wyoming.

  • SongYin Paik, Senior, from Corona Presbyterian Church of Denver, Colorado, and the Presbytery of Denver. 

Previously selected Apollos Scholarship recipients from Columbia who are continuing their seminary studies include: Ridgley Beckett and Steven Sankey.  

Apollos Scholarship applications are accepted from students who are members of a Presbyterian Church (USA) congregation, under the care of a Presbytery as a Candidate or Inquirer, and enrolled in one of the 10 theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA).  Applications may be submitted between January 15th and April 15th, and those honored with an award are notified in early August. For more information, visit

Michael Thompson
Director of Communications

View All News Releases