Atlanta Partnerships


Through the Atlanta Theological Association (ATA), Columbia enjoys academic and professional affiliations with Candler School of Theology (Emory University), Erskine Theological Seminary, Interdenominational Theological Center, Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary and McAfee School of Theology (Mercer University). The association develops and coordinates educational programs and resources of these member institutions, which include approximately sixteen hundred students, two hundred faculty, and a combined library collection of 600,000 volumes. Among significant and promising cooperative endeavors, in addition to the Doctor of Ministry degree program, are cross registration, sharing of faculty, library and lectureship resources, inter-seminary courses, and experimental programs in various academic disciplines and professional specializations.


Through Columbia’s membership in ARCHE, students may cross-register for approved courses and have library privileges at other member institutions. Download ARCHE’s cross-registration brochure.


Columbia students may cross-register for courses at schools that belong to either the ATA or ARCHE. Cross-registration forms are available in the registrar’s office at each school.

Students may cross-register for a course on a space-available basis. Students may cross-register for a maximum of two courses per term, and the combined load may not exceed the full-time allowable load on the home campus. Students register and pay regular tuition and fees to the home institution.

In addition, a policy of reciprocal cross-registration at the ten theological institutions of the Presbyterian Church (USA) is designed to strengthen the theological education of persons preparing for ministry in the denomination. This policy permits students registered in master’s degree programs to take courses at any of the other institutions without paying additional tuition. Tuition for a course is charged at the home institution. For additional information, contact the Office of Academic Affairs.